Sunday, June 07, 2020

The Bergen Football League (BFL) High School Division ended in grand fashion on the last play of the game. Tani Engel knocked down a Zack Levy pass, headed into the arms of Joe Baron, on fourth and goal to secure the championship for undefeated Nebraska, as Ohio State was inches from stealing the trophy. Nebraska was led all year by back-to-back regular season MVP Yonatan Naor, as his athleticism and underrated defense had his team 6-0 heading into the playoffs. The #2 Ohio State, led by Noam Miller, had the steal of the draft with Most Outstanding Player Elie Kuperman, who was unguardable as a receiver all season. The championship game saw Nebraska go up 20-0 on great touchdowns by Avraham Glatter, Ezra Baron and playoff MVP Gavriel Frischman. Ohio State would storm back with back-to-back tds by Ari Gross and Rookie of the Year Ephraim Sheinbein, but as the final seconds ticked away, it was Nebraska who made the final stop on D to raise the trophy.

The inaugural seventh and eighth grade division had a wild double upset in round one as both top teams got knocked out in stunning fashion. Number one seed Alabama, led by Josh Orlinsky and Dani Goldenberg, lost to #4 Georgia, led by Harry Orlinsky and Akiva Swinkin, while #2 Clemson, led by regular season league MVP Yehoshua Schloss and Aaron Schmutter, lost to #3 Auburn led by stellar performances by Ari Gilad and Jordan Rothenberg. The championship saw Auburn take a huge lead with playoff MVP Jordan Reider throwing tds all over the field to Lazer Stechler and Yehuda Greenberg to bury Georgia. Izzy Bromberg led a ferocious come back to bring his team within one score, but the clock ran out as Auburn took home the first seventh/eighth grade trophy.

Congratulations to all the players on a great first year of BFL and we are excited for our next season to start in September.

By JLNJ Sportsdesk