jlink
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Advertisement
Share

(Courtesy of the Aleph Society) World-renowned rabbi and Talmud scholar Rabbi Adin Even-Israel Steinsaltz passed away on August 7. An online memorial commemoration featuring reminiscences, film clips and discussions of Jewish text will be marking the shloshim.

Streaming event begins Tuesday, September 8, at: 8 p.m. EDT, 7 p.m. CDT, 6 p.m, MDT, 5 p.m. PDT at steinsaltz.org/shloshim.

Speakers will include: Israel’s Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu; Senator Joseph Lieberman, Lord Rabbi Jonathan Sacks, former chief rabbi of the United Kingdom; Mayim Bialik, actress, “The Big Bang Theory” and “Blossom”; Dara Horn, author, “The Eternal Life”; and Ruth Calderon, Israeli TV host and former Knesset member.

Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz was the most renowned Jewish scholar of our age, known for making the sacred canon accessible to all. Time Magazine called him a “once in a millennium scholar.” His translation and commentary on the Talmud comprises 42 volumes and has been translated into French, Spanish, Hebrew, Russian and Italian. He authored more than 60 other books on philosophy, theology, mysticism and even zoology. His work of Kabbalah, “The Thirteen Petalled Rose,” is considered a classic.

Advertisement

Among others, he was awarded the Israel Prize, his country’s highest honor, the National Jewish Book Award and the French Legion d’honneur. In its obituary, the New York Times refers to him as “a towering figure.”

Rabbi Steinsaltz established the only Russian yeshiva, known as the Academy of Jewish Studies, during the Communist era. He presided over the Global Day of Jewish Studies, an annual event held in his honor in over 500 communities and 46 countries.

The shloshim ceremony is traditionally held 30 days after someone passes away. It is a time to reflect on past achievements and honor Rabbi Steinsaltz’s vision.

Share